top of page

Back to School Vaccines: A Mothers Unexpected Celebration

I gave myself permission to celebrate a minor victory the other day as we walked out of my daughter’s four year old well child exam. Prior to leaving the office we did the usual, requested a copy of her updated vaccine record. Pre-K registration required a recent one, along with proof of the physical exam, hearing and vision. This was one of the many "to do” boxes I felt proud to check off as a parent. My daughter lingered in the office a bit taking careful time selecting her choice of sticker. She also stopped on the way to the door to proudly tell everyone within ear shot how brave she was.

The other parents in the waiting room graciously entertained her four year old exclamation of bravery, smiling and giving her a high five. She stopped to play with a toy on the way out. After this lengthy exit process we left the office and made our way to the car.

I placed her in the carseat and strapped her in while she continued to chatter away. In the way only a four year old can, she revisited the whole experience with her preschool perspective. My mind became occupied with the next items on our "to do list" for this particular day. Productivity is paramount as always for working parents. I sat in the driver’s seat and put down all the paperwork that was in my hands. Starting up the car and turning on the music I paused for a minute.

Everything literally came to a halt in my world as I glanced and then fixed on the immunization record that I held in my hand. It is crazy how one piece of paper can illicit so many emotions. However, a flood gate opened for me which caught me completely by surprise. If you have not seen an immunization record for a child, it is filled with columns and rows of data. The record indicates the vaccines that were given and the date on which they were administered. These vaccine records for many children start in the hospital when they receive a hepatitis B vaccine as newborns. This is their first immunization. The data points go forward into school age years. My daughter’s vaccine record was a part of her history. It was a snap shot in this one piece of paper with neatly organized dates, of her life to this point.

Looking at the dates my mind travelled back to her 2 month old checkup. At that time we were just adjusting to being the parents of two kids. There were moments where I was overwhelmed, others where I watched my eldest interacting with the baby and felt so complete. At this age my daughter began to smile and coo. She completely hated any prolonged period of time in her car seat. How far we have come from there. I then thought of her as a 6 month old, scooting on her stomach like an inch worm. Around that time we heard her melodic laugh. I recalled her expression of confusion as she tried green beans for the first time. My mind then fast tracked to her one year old visit. She still wasn't walking at that time. Intuitively and intellectually I knew this was completely within normal range, yet I had all these questions even as a pediatrician for our pediatrician about helping her with her motor skills.

This four year old well child check came with a surprisng windfall of emotions. It was the culmination of many well-child exams in her early years. In that time we have moved from one city to another, made new friends, lost some family members. Her vaccine record is something I feel immense pride in completing as she enters school. It is a small history of her life, of my experience as her mother. Yes there will be more vaccine boosters to come, but we have already made it a long way. I've always been someone who enjoys celebrating milestones, even small ones. These small moments of reflection mark meaningful moments in a long journey of parenting. My journey as a busy mother has officially entered into a new era, the school age phase. I embrace it with pride and eager anticipation.

Image originally thinkstock


bottom of page