top of page

You Survived: Celebrating the first birthday

I wrote this almost 8 years ago today as we celebrated my son's first birthday. There is something monumental for parents that occurs when your child turns one. We have survived months of uncertainty and newness, to become quasi veterans in the parenting world. We transcend from those who know very little to now being able to offer advice to parents of newborns. It's a pretty amazing transition and full of emotions.

Contentment:

As I reflect on my son's first birthday, I am reminded of a song by my favorite duo "Kindred the Family Soul" Contentment. It has a mellow and smooth hook that makes you get the feeling of peace and contentment as the song title states.

"When you came into the world you stopped the show, and it's been a pleasure to watch you grow. When I look into your eyes I know I've done good. I wouldn't change one moment if I could.."

There are so many great quotable verses from the song that sum up how this occasion feels. My son's first birth day feels like the pinnacle of a year characterized by newness. New and uncharted territory in every way for my husband and I as new parents. It symbolizes a victory of sorts. Looking into the eyes of our happy healthy child, I feel an overwhelming sense of pride and yes, relief at what we have accomplished.

The day we brought him home from the hospital we literally had no clue what to expect. We had all the theory, had read the books, taken the parenting classes but had never put any of these things into practice in our daily lives. Could we really handle the sleepless nights? The colic? The diaper changes? The nursing? Would our team of two really be able to coordinate every aspect of this small person's life?

How quickly he evolved, smiling, cooing, then giggling, to taking his first steps. We were blessed in that our child was healthy and the first year went smoothly. Each of these advances to us were better than the fourth of July fireworks as new parents. It was the only way we knew that maybe-perhaps-we were doing something right. Since he wasn't able to actually tell us he loved us, he showed us. He gave us those nonverbal clues until he could speak how well we were doing. We were rewarded with smiles and laughter to validate our hard work, and we soaked it all up.

Today as I reflect on the first year as a parent, I am content as my favorite song would say. Another verse states, "I take every day as it comes to me, waiting on God to fulfill my destiny". I believe that some of my destiny is fulfilled in this beautiful child we have been blessed to raise. They call this day when your child celebrates a birthday, a mother's "Labor Day." Happy Labor Day to me, and happy birthday to my son! To all the parents approaching the first birthday of their very first child, I celebrate with you-

Congratulations!

-Be Blessed, The Mommy Doc

c. BVirgil MD

image credit: typorama

bottom of page